Wednesday, February 10, 2010

Bad Snow Day Movies - Avoid at all costs

If you are not in the Washington DC area right now, you may be unaware of the mountain of snow that we had dropped on us in the last couple weeks. Anyone saying that climate change is a "myth" needs only watch the news footage of usually moderate winter Virginia buried in snow. 

One of the things that inevitably happens when you are forced to spend time in the house, aside from catching up on work is that you end up watching more TV. For me that was a journey into my distant past watching a movie that my mind had fooled me into thinking that I liked. 
Isn't it funny how when you look back on your past there's a kind of veil over it all that makes those bygone years seem more "innocent" or "simple". Well I had the veil yanked viciously from my mind's eye this weekend so I thought I would prevent another tragedy in case anyone else had the dumb idea to watch...Under The Rainbow from 1983 starring Carrie Fisher and Chevy Chase.

I spent so much time thinking how I had seen this mess when I was a kid, and aside from Princess Leia walking around in a bra and half slip for 10 minutes in the film, it was the worst thing I have watched in a long time. And this is from a guy who had just finished watching a copy of "The Omega Man" with Charleton Heston, hoping it would redeem Will Smith's "I Am Legend" for me...It didn't.

Under The Rainbow, is about a midget or little person in WWII 40s going to a small hotel in Hollywood and becoming a part of the making of the 'Wizard of Oz'. So far it at least sound interesting right? Well from there it gets weird. There's a midget Nazi, a European royal super paranoid about getting assassinated, a string of small dogs that get killed in several unfunny ways, and about 200 other little people that act like their in a fusion of 'Animal House' and 'Caligula'.

To say it just kept getting worse is an understatment. After the long adventure where our little person Rollo, whom we've followed to Hollywood, has spent most of the movie's screen time being elsewhere...It all comes back to where we began at the beginning, when before Rollo left home he took a fall into a giant crate while trying to put a radio aerial back in place. The twist? The whole movie is in Rollo's head!! Even the vast number of scenes that he was never actually involved in! What the hell is that about?

BTW I mentioned 'Omega Man' because as I said that Will Smith movie left me so disappointed that I heard that this take on 'I Am Legend' was better...Let me save you the trouble. Piece. Of. Crap.

Aside from the villains who were a group of white afroed albinos with Ray Ban sunglasses on, who I might add looked more irritated by sunlight, than hurt by it. These guys blame technology for the plague that killed or mutated folks. Then add to that Mr. Heston, shooting every damn thing in sight. Pure Crap.

My dad recommended it to me but afterward I figured out why...This movie featured an attractive black woman who up til then I had only seen as an older woman, very conservative looking and proper - Rosalind Cash. Some may remember her from her appearances on 'The Cosby Show'. Well Ms. Cash showed off her lovely lady lumps in this film and I guess for my father that was enough to call it a classic.

0 comments:

Post a Comment